How to ?

Are you well connected to your Google Account ?

posted Jun 29, 2015, 8:18 AM by Stéphane Giron   [ updated Jun 29, 2015, 8:20 AM ]


When you buy a license we assigned it to your Google account, it means you can access from any computer never the less you are connected to your Google account. If after receiving email confirmation of license assignment you don't have access to the app it means you are not well connected.

Why I'm badly connected to my Google account ?

99% of the case are due to usage of the function in Gmail "Add account" (check support link)
function add google account in gmail
This function does not work really well because cookies are not well saved. In fact it works when you are in Gmail or Drive but when you open an app, like ours and other on the chrome web store, which need to connect to your google account. In the process of authentication chrome return the cookie of your Gmail session and not the cookie of the account from what you buy app, e.g. your Google Apps Account.

Quickly check it works

To quickly check you have access to the app you can open an incognito window, link. Shortcut : Ctrl + Maj + N (Windows, Linux et Chrome OS) ou sur ⌘ – Maj – N (Mac)
Connect to your account and follow the link of the web app.

Manage multiple account with Chrome

Best way to use multiple Google account on one computer is to use the Chrome session.
This will create different instance of Chrome for each of your profiles. By this way you will have the session for your Gmail account and the session for your Google Apps account. No issue with cookies etc... because everything is separated.

Create chrome profile : support link or copy paste this link in the address bar : chrome://settings/createProfile

Duplicate Google Groups settings

posted Jun 29, 2015, 4:52 AM by Stéphane Giron   [ updated Jun 29, 2015, 4:53 AM ]

Manage settings of Google Groups can be, some times, a little bit tricky because you have to browse several menus in the settings pages of Google Groups for Business to find appropriates settings to change.

What more simple that if it could be possible to copy/paste settings of a Google Groups ?

This is now feasible with ezPanel by going to the menu "Duplicate Google Groups".
You just have to enter a source group, the one we will use to copy parameters, and define a destination group, the group where the settings will be changed. The destination group can be an existing or not group. 
If the destination group does not exist you can request to create it by the same way.
Settings duplicated :
  • allow external members
  • allow google communication
  • allow web posting
  • archive only
  • custom reply to
  • default message deny notification text
  • include in global address list
  • is archived
  • members can post as the group
  • message moderation level
  • reply to
  • send message deny notification
  • show in group directory
  • spam moderation level
  • who can contact owner
  • who can invite
  • who can join
  • who can leave group
  • who can post message
  • who can view group 
  • who can view membership
This function is exclusively available for paid users.

Help for Folder Copy

posted May 19, 2015, 1:19 AM by Stéphane Giron   [ updated May 19, 2015, 1:24 AM ]

In this page find information to install and use folder copy app.

Introduction

Folder copy is a web application that you can install from the chrome web store. This application is online and does not require installation on your computer.

Install folder copy

1. Go to the chrome web store, follow this link to install Folder Copy.
2. Click on button "Add to Chrome"
3. Confirm installation by clicking on "Add"
4. After, installation app is added to your chrome apps tabs. Go to this url : chrome://apps/
Click on Folder copy icon.
! Take care if you have lot of apps in your chrome may be folder copy is on the second page. Check "Application" tabs at the bottom of chrome apps page.

Make a copy with Folder Copy

1. Open Folder Copy App
Check step 4 in the section above.
2. Add url in the text box
3. Click on "Launch". Audit of source folder start. Check message in the red box and wait until message change
Important : During Audit does not close window.

4. Once audit is finished message change
5. After Audit Folder copy app has created a Folder where the files will be copied and a spreadsheet to track progress of copy.
6. Open the spreadsheet to follow progress of copy
Important : Folder copy app run in background so once you launch a copy you must wait to receive an email to confirm copy is completed. If you don't do that the copy will be stopped. You can close the windows after Audit is finished.

7. When copy is finished you receive an email

8. You can launch a new Copy.

Find ID of a Google Drive Folder

posted Apr 3, 2015, 5:00 AM by Stéphane Giron   [ updated Apr 3, 2015, 5:56 AM ]

If you get the error message "Please enter a Folder ID or a valid Folder URL" in Folder Copy app or Folder Notification app it is may be you entered an url not recognized by the app. Below you can find 2 ways to get the ID of your Google Drive folder. 

In the address bar

It is the last ID of the address bar.

By using the get link menu

On your drive right click on a folder and click on get link

You get an url like this : https://drive.google.com/open?id=ID_OF_THE_GOOGLE_FOLDER&authuser=0

You can copy/paste directly this url or just the ID.

How to Delete a Shared Contact in your Google Apps domain ?

posted Mar 3, 2015, 6:07 AM by Stéphane Giron   [ updated Mar 3, 2015, 6:08 AM ]

First you have to install the apps Shared Contacts Manager on the Chrome Web Store. Details of the installation are in this video on youtube.
 
Good to know : The API used to manage shared contacts is quite old, so it is not possible to send a request and search for a specific user. You can only reach a contact by his ID, if you don't know this ID you have to browse all contact in order to find the on eyou want. That is why we use the email as unique key to find a shared contact.

For deleting a shared contact :

1 - Search the contact by entering his email and click on "Get Information"

search shared contact on my google apps domain

2 - Once contact his find

confirmation message after finding shared contact

3 - Click on "Delete Shared Contact" to delete the entry


4- Deletion will be confirmed on the screen

Delete a shared contact is really simple with Shared Contact Manager even if you don't know the ID of the Shared Contact !!!

1-5 of 5